A heron haunted sea

It’s time to go home. I’ve seen dolphins and pelicans and manatees, and this morning a sea of black ducks soaring above us as we stood on the pier. The weather has been beautiful the last few days, and it’s been amazing to sit outside and write looking at the sea. It might be the Gulf of Mexico and not Worbarrow Bay, but that is what the imagination is for.

Of course, I took Fred on holiday with me. Kit and Mr Rivers et al refused to be left behind – even on the plane, I am sure that they were all huddled a few rows behind. They certainly paced up and down the beach with me, gazing at the sea and daydreaming about what happens next.

In the early morning mist, with fog drifting along the beach thick as smoke, I could easily see the scenes of Fred and the heron haunted English streams. Although, this picture by Mr S, shows a different view of a heron. He’s got his rod and tackle box and is enjoying the sunset.

heron fishing with fishing rod and tackle box

heron out fishing...

And here’s a picture of me at the Ringling Circus Museum (a place itching with stories…) snapped by Mr S as I’m pondering Fred. There are probably some shadowy figures in the window, waiting…

Daydreaming at the Ringling Museum, Florida

3 Comments

Filed under Book 2 - Tyneford Project, writer pontification

3 responses to “A heron haunted sea

  1. Hi Natasha,
    I was reading through Nathan Brandsford’s latest blog about new book jitters and fell in love with your comment. I was wondering whether you’d mind if I reposted it on my own blog, with links back to you and your friends, of course. I think it’s great advice. Long live paper plates!

    Emily

  2. kimberlyloomis

    Natasha,

    I must second what Emily said above. I found your words on Nathan’s blog to be most heartening and inspiring. Thank you so much for sharing your advice about china vs. paper plates. Not one for optimism I must say your words might have made a convert out of me. Thank you again.

    ~Kimberly

  3. natashasolomons

    Hi Emily,

    Oh – I’m glad you found it useful! Of course you can repost – I’d be delighted.

    And Kimberly – thanks so much. I’m glad you’ve found your way to my blog!

    x
    n

Leave a Reply

