The cover for ‘Mr Rosenblum’s List’!

I’m so excited – here is the hardback cover for the UK edition of Mr Rosenblum’s List. The process of the cover was really fun and I have to say that my gorgeous editor Jocasta made me feel very included. She started off by sending agent Stan and I some vintage tube posters – ones for Kew Gardens and Richmond and so on, as well as some other late 40s and early 50s prints.

The first couple of sketches had flowers and the hill, even a golf flag, but we decided that it needed to feel peopled. The book is about Jack and Sadie in the landscape and so the illustrator drew them into the scene. The golf flag disappeared – the story is not really about golf, and was perhaps a bit off putting. The flowers gradually became wilder (I love the bluebells and wild clematis and the herb robert) and a flock of swallows appeared.

I love it and can’t quite believe that I’m going to have an actual, real-life book published. Yes. When I first saw a print out of the cover, I did cry. I’m a girl. It’s allowed.

Mr Rosenblum HB

The illustrator is Nathan Burton and the book designer is Sarah Christie.

9 Comments

Filed under from summerhouse to summer read, inspirations behind Mr Rosenblum

9 responses to “The cover for ‘Mr Rosenblum’s List’!

  1. leasimpson

    I bloody love it. Wonderful, wonderful. Ahh, just got the tingle.

  2. I love that cover!!! It’s absolutely stunning!!

    BTW your link over at the blogoffee morning doesn’t work – but I’ve popped over anyway to say Hi and see if there’s any nice cake on offer 🙂

  3. natashasolomons

    Thanks Lea and Kate!

    How weird. I’ve checked the link and it seems to be working now, so thanks.
    x

  4. Gillian

    Beautiful! Can’t wait to own one!!!

  5. natashasolomons

    Thank you gillian!
    xxxx

  6. Hi, Natasha! I’m stopping by from Nicola’s party, too, and I think I’ll have to stay. You have such a gorgeous blog, and now a gorgeous book cover! 😀

    Congrats!

  7. The book looks wonderful, Natasha. Will it be out for Christmas?

  8. natashasolomons

    Hi Rebecca,

    Thanks for dropping by! Yes, please come back again. I’m off to check out your blog now.

    And Thomas,

    Thanks for visiting too! ‘Mr R’ will come out in the UK on the 1st of April, so not in time for Christmas this year.

Leave a Reply

