A goose egg and a new title

My novel has had several titles. It began life as The Woolly-Pig, it was even The Dorset Woolly-Pig for a while and the one it went out to agents with was Jack-in-the-Green. When Stan became my agent, he was adamant that it needed to be changed before he submitted the novel to publishers. He was lovely about it, we met in the pub one dreich day in late December and over several g and ts (or pints of guinness for Stan) he tactfully suggested that he thought there might be a better title. After some back and forth e-mails, we settled on Mr Rosenblum’s List. For me, it was a glass slipper moment and I found that having this new, better title helped me shape the next draft. (Stan, like all good agents wanted some revisions before he sent the manuscript out into the wide world).

Now, I am absolutely thrilled to be published by Reagan Arthur Books for Little, Brown in the U.S. Reagan Arthur is a legendary editor, and when she gently brought up the question of a different title for the US edition, I had to listen. I know she wants the best for my book. Over the last few weeks, we’ve been e-mailing and mulling over various suggestions and have finally settled on:

Mr Rosenblum Dreams in English

I’m really excited by this new title. I think it has a lovely whimsical feel that fits the tone of the book perfectly.

My mum came round this morning. I think she read the blog on the state of the house and was worried about my garden, and very sweetly did some weeding and planted a new shrub. She’d come from the market and brought me a goose egg. Isn’t it beautiful? I think it’s like something straight out of a fairytale.

Goose egg (and nibbled writer's nails)

Goose egg (and nibbled writer's nails)

2 Comments

Filed under from summerhouse to summer read

2 responses to “A goose egg and a new title

  1. Hi there!
    Congatulations on your publisher! You’ve started on an excting journey; good luck on it. I’ll have to catrch up on how it’s been so far.
    Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’ve been researching Heather Godwin but found nothing on her as an agent, only as her husband’s business partner. It does seem like the ideal agancy for me, but I keep hearing more about David Godwin than about Heather. It is so hard to research agents in the UK, so I realise she could be doing more than is visible online. Anyway, I definitely will be submitting to that agency. Thanks again for the great tip!

  2. natashasolomons

    I wondered about Heather because she represents Arundhati Roy – I heard that she’s lovely but of course they’re both wonderful agents. I’ve been really enjoying your blog too!

Leave a Reply

