German curses and wild garlic

Some days it’s just hard. I’ve done all possible procrastinating – I’ve surfed the internet, tidied my bookshelves, talked to the weeds in the flowerbeds as well as read lovely stuff in the British Library. But today I had actually had to start making changes. I know my editors are right but the actual process of picking apart the manuscript is still difficult. My desk is covered in notes, drafts and half a dozen documents are open on the laptop. Small changes I can make directly onto the new draft, new scenes I make in a separate document and then ease into the text. Then, lots of shaping, reading and re-reading to make sure the rhythm still flows. Thank god for word processors. Does anyone remember doing this on a typewriter?

My hero Jack Rosenblum is a German-Jewish refugee. He tries very hard to be British but at moments of extreme duress he lapses into his native German in order to curse more effectively. So I’ve been researching vintage German and Yiddish curses. (The novel is set in 1952). Du bist ein Misthoffen! (You are a dungheap).

Also saw that wild garlic has taken root in my herbaceous border. I know it’s a weed but I rather like it, so it can stay.

Back to work!

Leave a comment

Filed under dorset life, from summerhouse to summer read, inspirations behind Mr Rosenblum

Leave a Reply

